Inspirational teachers, principals, business managers and support staff and schools are being recognised for the valuable work they do at the annual Victorian Education Excellence Awards.

Member for Macedon, Mary-Anne Thomas, has congratulated Daylesford Primary School which is among 47 finalists for the 2023 Victorian Education Excellence Awards, which celebrate those who work to improve schools and help students achieve their best.

The 15 individual and team award categories include outstanding principal (primary and secondary), outstanding teacher (primary and secondary), outstanding business manager, outstanding provision for high-ability students (primary and secondary), outstanding education support and outstanding Koorie education.

The Victorian Education Excellence Awards support the continued professional development of staff, with professional learning grants of $20,000 available for each individual award and $25,000 for each team award.

One category winner will also receive the esteemed Lindsay Thompson Award for Excellence in Education, which offers a further professional learning grant of $20,000.

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Friday, 27 October 2023. For more information, visit