The Zelman Memorial Symphony Orchestra returns to the Daylesford Town Hall on Sunday March 26 with a concert program of Viennese masters featuring Canadian soloist Alexandre Da Costa with his 1701 Stradivarius.

Alexandre Da Costa’s Stradivarius in Vienna has been performed internationally and is both unique and traditional, presenting the soul of this much-loved music in an accessible and refined way. The whirling, swirling delights of Strauss’ Beautiful Blue Danube and Emperor Waltz, Kreisler’s Viennese Rhapsodic Fantasietta and Korngold’s Straussiana Waltz are set to sparkle in a concert to open Zelman’s 2023 orchestral season.

Da Costa has appeared as guest soloist and conductor in more than 2000 concerts across four continents and over 30 countries in the world’s most prestigious venues with the most renowned orchestras and conductors. He currently serves as Music Director of the Longueuil Symphony Orchestra and Artistic Director of the Stradivaria Festival.

The Zelman Symphony is one of the most successful community orchestras in the country. The Orchestra was founded in 1906 by Alberto Zelman Jnr as the first Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. When Bernard Heinz invited its artists to join him in creating the ABC’s first professional orchestra in 1932, the remaining musicians formed the Zelman Memorial Symphony Orchestra in honour of their beloved Alberto who had died all too early in 1927.

Since that time the orchestra has grown to become one of Australia’s finest not-for-profit community orchestras. Following a line of outstanding conductors, it is now led by artistic director and principal conductor, Rick Prakhoff with concertmaster, Susan Pierotti. Musicians come from the amateur and professional world and range in age from 14 to 89. Its concerts in Melbourne’s major venues, including the Hamer Hall, the Melbourne Recital Centre and the Sidney Myer Music Bowl, have featured some of Australia’s – and the world’s – top soloists and works by Australian composers such as Elena Kats-Chernin. The orchestra has also featured in a TV documentary as well as radio broadcasts.

In its 90th anniversary season of 2023, the orchestra presents a mouth-watering program spanning the eras of Classical, Romantic, 20th Century and contemporary music – including the world premiere of a specially-commissioned Australian work.

The program includes:

  • Strauss, J Jnr – Die Fledermaus: Overture
  • Strauss, J Jnr – Emperor Waltz
  • Kreisler – Viennese Rhapsodic Fantasietta
  • Korngold – Straussiana Waltz
  • Stafylakis – Valse Kinetic
  • Kreisler – Schön Rosmarin, Liebesleid & Liebesfreud
  • Strauss, J Jnr – The Beautiful Blue Danube
  • Strauss, J Jnr – Tritsch-Tratsch-Polka
  • Strauss, J Snr – Radetzky March

For bookings and more information: