There are nearly 13,000 electors for State election in Hepburn Shire. About 3,400 live in and around Daylesford and Hepburn Springs. The electoral roll is now closed.

At the last election the ALP won  42.8 percent of the primary vote and 63.2 percent of the two party preferred vote after preferences were distributed, electing Mary-Anne Thomas as the member for Macedon. She has since gone on to become Minister for Health in the Victorian Government. Macedon has been a safe Labor seat for the past 20 years.

Nominations have now closed and there are eight candidates are standing for Macedon.

Candidate statements have been received from Dominic Bonanno, Marley McLeod, Mary-Anne Thomas, Huntly Barton and Iris Bergman.

Early voting is open from Monday the 14th of November to Friday the 25th of November in Kyneton, Castlemaine and Ballarat. There is no early polling place in Daylesford or Hepburn Springs.

Polling booths will be open from 8am to 6pm on Election Day at Hepburn Primary School, Daylesford Primary School, Yandoit Primary School and Glenlyon Shire Hall.