This year marks 165 years since the building of the W.E. Stanbridge Hall was completed. The hall began its life as a school for girls and was one of Daylesford founding-father William Stanbridge’s many generous acts of philanthropy.
Christ Church, Church of England School opened on 4 May 1857 with 50 pupils enrolled. The school building was also used for worship
until the Church was built and opened in 1864.
The W.E. Stanbridge Hall has been a much loved feature of both parish and town life ever since its construction. The hall is unique with its plain Gothic
structure, narrow lancet windows and plain external columns resembling buttresses. These features echo mediaeval architecture and add to the
charm of the building.
The hall is an important asset to both the parish and wider community. In recent years it has been somewhat under-utilised. Recognising this the parish has embarked upon a refurbishment of the hall to make it available for greater use in our town where there is always demand for quality venues.
In recent months we have introduced reverse cycle systems for heating and cooling and new lighting. Our most recent project has been the hall floor which has been stripped, sanded and coated, restoring the natural beauty of the timber, along with a pronounced sheen.
Our improvements to the hall continue with further works in train including upgrading our kitchen facilities and repainting the interiors.
These facelifting measures have already enhanced the hall significantly which has been well received by various organisations making bookings.
The hall is suitable for a wide range of events and activities from weddings, to dinners, meetings, social occasions and workshops.
Enquiries: Anne Milton email@example.com