Eight candidates have nominated for the Seat of Ballarat. They are (in ballot order):

John Barnes, retiree, Australian Greens

Ben Green, lawyer, Liberal Party of Australia

Alex Graham, retired, Independent

Kerryn Sedgman, educator, Australian Federation Party

Terri Elizabeth Pryse-Smith, manager, United Australia Party

Rosalie Taxis, retired, Pauline Hanson’s One Nation

Julia McGrath, unemployed, Liberal Democratic Party

Catherine King, member of parliament, Australian Labor Party

See the online ballot paper here


Voters will also elect six senators for Victoria.

See the online ballot paper here


If you have COVID

If you are isolating with COVID after 6pm Tuesday the 17th of May you can vote by telephone. This is an emergency measure and the AEC is asking voters to be prepared and check the online ballot papers (see above) before ringing. See here for information on COVID voting.


Voting in Person on Election Day

On Election Day  the following polling booths near to Daylesford and Hepburn Springs will be open. Polling booths will be open from 8am to 6 pm.

Daylesford Secondary College, 39 Smith St, Daylesford

Hepburn Primary School, 156 Main Rd, Hepburn Springs

Glenlyon Shire Hall, 32 Malmsbury Rd, Glenlyon

Yandoit Primary School, 74 High St, Yandoit


Early voting commenced on May the 9th at the Ballarat Show Grounds (cnr of How St and Creswick Rd, Wendouree) and Phoenix College (Tuppen Dr, Sebastopol). Generally these booths are open on weekdays  from 8am to 8 pm and Saturday from 8am to 6pm but it is worth checking the times for the day you want to vote.

More information on local polling booths can be found on the AEC website.