On Saturday, at the picturesque Wesley Hill oval, Hepburn defeated Muckleford to become A-Reserve Premiers in the Castlemaine and District Cricket Association.

Muckleford won the toss and elected to bat. Brayden Yanner struck early when Bodhi Robinson took a catch to dismiss the Muckleford opener for 7 with the score on 10. Wickets fell regularly throughout the Muckleford innings with only Dakota Slingo (25) and Ryan White (41*) offering substantial resistance. Muckleford finished with 8/150. Wickets were shared around with Will Sheil, Nash Robinson and Vinet Kumar each taking two. Lucinda Lowe pitched in with a tidy 1/12 off her 4 overs.

Hepburn opened with Bodhi Robinson and Brayden Yanner who compiled runs quickly. The game was well in hand when Bodhi Robinson was out for 62 with the score on 143. Nash Robinson joined to Yanner to add the few remaining runs. Brayden Yanner brought up the win with a four to square leg to finish on 83 not out.

On Friday evening, Hepburn Women’s team lost their Grand Final to Newstead.  After their thrilling last ball win in their semi-final victory over Barkers Creek, the team was looking forward to their first ever Grand Final in their first ever season.

Hepburn won the toss and batted but some good bowling and fielding by Newstead restricted the runs with Hepburn ending their innings at 10/80. Lucinda Lowe was the top scorer with 10. Hepburn was not as effective with the ball and Newstead won with 7/99.

Women’s team captain, Lucinda Lowe, may have been disappointed by the loss but she would have been pleased with her performance in the men’s Grand Final on Saturday. With the men’s premiership, she became the first first woman to represent a men’s premiership side in the CDCA.

Both teams are looking forward to the 2022/23 season with the senior men’s side hoping for promotion to A Grade on the basis of their two consecutive Grand Final wins.