At the Council meeting this week, Council appointed seven community members to the Heather Mutimer International Women’s Day Honour Roll Advisory Committee.

The Heather Mutimer International Women’s Day Honour Roll was launched in 2005. Each year, as part of the week of International Women’s Day, up to five names
are added to the Honour Roll. Honour Roll inductees are announced at an annual civic function which takes place around International Women’s Day.

The Advisory Committee consists of a Councillor as Chair and up to seven community representatives. The current Chair is Cr Don Henderson. Community members appointed at the Council meeting on Tuesday were:

  • Sue Craven,
  • Karen McAloon,
  • Lisa Gervasoni,
  • Barbara Curzon-Siggers,
  • Elizabeth Boulton,
  • Emma Whitfield-Rooney, and
  • Narelle Groenhout

An important role of the Committee is to provide recommendations to Council on the nominees to be placed on the Honour Roll each year. Members are also expected to promote the event, review the guidelines and encourage nominations for the Honour Roll.