Hepburn Shire’s newly elected councillors were sworn in on Thursday night.

The seven councillors are:

  • Birch Ward: Jen Bray and Lesley Hewitt
  • Holcombe Ward: Juliet Simpson
  • Creswick Ward: Tim Drylie and Don Henderson
  • Coliban Ward: Brian Hood
  • Cameron Ward: Tessa Halliday

The six new councillors and Cr Don Henderson, who was elected for his fourth term, took their Oath or Affirmation of Office and signed the Councillor Code of Conduct in the presence of the CEO, Evan King.

The Local Government Act requires that the swearing in be in-person. However, due to COVID restrictions the ceremony was closed and live-streamed to the community via the Council’s Facebook page. A recording has been posted.

The new councillors have a very busy schedule over the next few weeks before their first Ordinary Council meeting on 1 December.

Council is required to offer newly elected and returning councillors a comprehensive induction to council and that will begin this Friday. The induction helps councillors to understand the responsibilities of being an elected representative and introduces them to the complexities and governance procedures of council.

A statutory meeting will be held next Tuesday to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor for the next year. The meeting will start at 6pm and be livestreamed to Council’s Facebook page. The Agenda will be available on the Council’s website.